The Miss Fisher Mysteries

Oh, Phryne ! I have read the books and this is one time when I can say, sincerely, that the representation on film lives up to the character in the book.
ABC has stated that they are bringing our girl back. But – is this a third season, or is this just Season 2 finally being aired here? 
I have been praying for a third season, having seen both previous ones. However, I heard there would not be a third season, because the time period – and doing it RIGHT – was too expensive to continue filming.
Whether it’s a new season or only season 2 picked up by ABC – I have a question.
I can’t resist – what does everybody else think about “Phryne” as a name?
Because, in addition to being odd and hard to pronounce when you encounter it the first time – it was first the “nickname” of a famous Greek courtesan. Which would be quite lovely – except for the fact that in Greek, the word means “toad”, and implied “prostitute”. Look it up.
Of course, the original “Phryne” was also amazingly beautiful.
 Mixed signals, I guess.
But because I like her SO much – and because in my heart of hearts I believe she sort of exists – it really makes me wonder what her fictional parents were thinking when they named her. And YES, I know they were impoverished, distant relations of a hotsy totsy Lord and all, but I prefer to imagine it MY way:
“My husband, dearest Parameter, I am about to give birth for the first time. If I give birth to a girl, what shall we name her?”
“As you know, I shall not be there, Clymedia, because birth is disgusting. It will be particularly disgusting if you insist on birthing a mere female. It is therefore wise of you to consult me beforehand. Much as I loathe the idea of a daughter springing from my loins, perhaps one or two of the dozen children you will give me may possibly be female, and names must be bestowed. Therefore, after very little thought, I decree that we shall call her ‘Phryne’, which as you probably don’t know means ‘beautiful toad’ – one who can fascinate and ensnare men.”
“For money, dear husband?”
“Of course for money, you ignorant twat. I need a pied-a-terre on the Aegean.”

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Miss Fisher Mysteries

  1. Heather says:

    AHAHAHAHAHA!! If only everyone were so honest about childbirth!

Leave a comment