Keep On Truckin’

truck airhorn

YES! So many fond memories of driving from Washington D.C. to Chicago, and elsewhere, on vacations with my mom – and every time we passed a truck, I would do that arm pump, and they would honk the air horn. No truck driver EVER failed me. It was so exciting as a kid – I looked forward to the next truck, and was always begging my mom to pass them – even though sometimes she liked to travel behind them because she felt safer – especially at night – with a truck in front of her. I didn’t understand her reasoning then – I do now. I always try to follow a truck at night if I am driving alone. That may make me sound crazy – what with all you hear about truck schedules and meeting deadlines – but I still feel they can see much farther ahead, and signal fast when something untoward is coming up, because they can see what we can’t. Now, I have to admit something. I STILL hang my arm out the window and do the arm pump (when I’m alone in the car!) and truckers STILL blow the air horn for me. EVERY SINGLE ONE. God Bless all truckers – they do a damned hard job, and are responsible for getting food to our tables, gas to our cars, and supplies to our stores. They mostly do a magnificent job of that.

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

