It’s Film Preview Time!

As a member of the DGA, I am one of those lucky people who, around this time of year, starts getting inundated by preview copies of movies. The producers hope that I might cast a vote for them come awards time, and I look at each movie as a possibility.

However, I am entitled to my opinion, and I feel a need to express it about the two I watched most recently.

Although it was a free viewing, BY THE SEA is still almost two hours of my life that I will never get back, and I resent it

I realize that nobody starts out to write a bad movie – or to direct one, or to star in one.

But…word to those self-entitled, special snowflakes that are Angelina and Brad – you are not living up to your potential – and Angelina, you are definitely spreading yourself too thin, what with writing, directing AND starring.

I won’t be revealing any spoilers here, because absolutely NOTHING happens in this film. It reminds me of those thoughtful French films of the 60’s – but in English, and without the humor. (Sarcasm intended.)

When, at the end of the film, Brad says to Angelina (yes, I know they were characters, and had names, but damned if I can remember them): “We really need to stop being such assholes”, I promise you that his suggestion came far, far too late.

I will stick to my opinion, so please don’t bother trying to convince me otherwise.

HOWEVER, in order to impress upon you that I am not a total Grinch – I give you THE DANISH GIRL. It is two hours of your life that you will wish had lasted much, much longer. Brilliant, nuanced, delicate, ephemeral…Eddie NAILS this, and Alicia Vikander is heartbreaking and true in her love for Lily. Amazing performances by all.

Apparently, it takes far less time to review a brilliant film.

Do yourself a favor – make an effort to see THE DANISH GIRL.

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

