Illinois – what the HECK are you talking about?

Is it just me, or does my home state (Illinois) have one of the weirdest TV tourism campaigns EVER?

Have you listened to these ads? They seem to promise all SORTS of things that do not scream “Illinois”.

Da Bears? Sure. Lincoln? You bet! But they don’t mention those. I have a BIG QUESTION MARK as to WHY.

I have to warn you, the narrator speaks in such soothing tones that you might mistake it for something other than a tourism commercial.

But when you listen for content – let’s just say I am flummoxed.

These commercials air quite a bit on ION TV at the moment. Don’t know where else. But I’ll just be working in the kitchen while getting my Criminal Minds fix when these come on.

I LOVE my home state, but I repeat – is it just me who finds the commercials weird?

Go, listen to one. Then get back to me. Thanks.

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

