WalMart gives itself high marks, again. For no reason, again.

Every time I hear the current WalMart commercial about how much they realize life is tough, and how much they value their employee “family”, etc. it makes me want to upchuck. The company implies that they just now realize the their employees might need more money to make life more worthwhile. PULEEZE. They imply that this new policy will take care of ALL the problems and everyone will be just one happy family. So, I talked to a WalMart employee today. I would say he’s an average employee, although young – so he hasn’t quite had all the hope beaten out of him like the older employees. He’s been working at WalMart for over a year, and I would say he is 22 at most. I asked him if he had seen the commercial. He hadn’t. I told him the commercial talked about things like giving employees enough money so life could be happy. I told him that was hugely paraphrased, btw. He looked around, saw nobody was paying attention, and said: “Really?” I asked him if he had recently gotten a raise. He said yes – about 6 weeks ago. He went from $9.00 to $9.30. He said it didn’t make much difference. I asked him if that was typical money around here (Phoenix, AZ). He said actually WalMart was a bit higher than other places. I was stunned. But only for a moment. He went on to say there was a bit of a problem. While other companies paid less, they also paid for health care. WalMart does NOT pay for healthcare. Here’s the kicker. WalMart does NOT pay for healthcare, but to work there, you MUST have healthcare. Yep. Pay for it yourself, or no job. He said he was lucky enough to have a dad who could – and would – pay for his healthcare until he turns 25. After that… Having to pay for your own healthcare pretty much eats up the slim margin of “slightly better pay”. So, basically, you are giving a whole additional .30 per hour? Really? Gee, WalMart, how can you POSSIBLY afford that? Yeah, yeah, maybe employees who have been there longer get more. Maybe even a whole .60. Bite me, WalMart. It makes me sick. I hope I don’t see that self-serving commercial any time soon again – because I probably really WILL upchuck.

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

