Newest Cabochons

    Here are Chatty’s latest necklaces.

    This first one is an eagle eye agate. Chatty thought the cabochon looked like rocks and sky when mounted horizontally, so that’s how she chose to create it. The necklace is triple-stranded:

              

    This next cabochon was a gift from one of Chatty’s best friends. It is a Chinese scene of two lovers under cherry blossoms by a waterfall. Chatty wanted all focus to be on the cabochon, so she matted and framed it like a little picture, then added a tassel (using VERY small beads – it took HOURS to make!) and a simple cream and black triple-strand necklace (using mostly the same teensy beads used in the tassel).

    Chatty is very pleased, but the test will be what her friend Mrs. S. thinks of it:

              

              

    So, Mrs. S. – what’s the verdict?
   
    

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in beading, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Newest Cabochons

  1. kcinnova says:

    I’m no Mrs. S, but those are both GORGEOUS and I think you did the gift cabochan justice. No WWC for you this week, either?

  2. CCC says:

    Thank you for the kind words of support! I think Mrs. S. will like what I did with the cabochon she she gave me – (happily) she’s been enthusiastic about everything else so far.As to no WWC this week – I’ve just been so sad about Hoop losing his brother that I couldn’t muster much enthusiasm for playing.  I will wait to see what Tink does in the next week or so. When/if she gets back into the swing of things, I will, too. But for now…no.

  3. gary says:

    Verdict? Beautiful!In answer to your last question, I don’t have your email, but it is a large bowl, and would be (family price!) 22 bucks plus 8 shipping=30 bucks.garyrith at yahoo dot comThanks Chatty!

  4. Chatty – I am always amazed at your beautiful bead-work! I think Mrs. S ought to surely be impressed.

  5. gary says:

    bowl in a box on its way! due at your house next Thurs, watch for the dude in the little brown shorts! and there is a GIFTIE inside, yeow! I think you will be hugely pleased

  6. Pat says:

    What a talent you have. You took that little piece of plastic that we bought together 25 years ago at a jewelry store that no longer exists and turned it into a piece of art–What genius you have. I hope you are able to sell it for many dollars at the Tucson jewelry show. Good luck. Pat

  7. CCC says:

    Well, you’ve blown your cover, Mrs. S – now ALL the denizens of Chatty’s world know your “real” name is Pat! But don’t worry – Chatty’s blog friends are the BEST! Hey, everybody – say hello to Chatty’s wonderful (and LONG time) friend, Pat!I’m so glad you like the way “our” necklace turned out! I’m quite pleased, too. I sure wish I knew then what I know now – I would have bought OUT that Pasadena bead store when I had the chance!As to your question, unfortunately the Tucson show is not a place where we can display our jewelry for sale. It’s sort of  like the show in Quartzite that you went to –  a place for buying the raw materials – i. e. the cabochons – for using in new works. So, I’m very excited – I’m hoping to find some irregular-shaped stones in addition to oval and round. Finally, I seriously doubt I would EVER sell that necklace. I like it too much – I’ve already worn it twice, and I only finished it 4 days ago! I know I should be practical, and be willing to sell everything – but I’ll be practical about the OTHER pieces – not this one – too many memories of my friend imbued in it!

  8. Pat says:

    Hey Girl just wanted to tell you that regarding the eagle eye–the way you turned it to look like the mountains around Phoenix was a wonderful idea–and the colors you chose to surround it with, the turquoise/white beading makes it exquisite. What an artist you are.

  9. vetrolet says:

    I’m afraid of radiation! What should I do?

Leave a Reply

