Foreign and Domestic

    Well, Tink has certainly changed things up on us for this week’s Word Challenge! We went from assignments like “wood and stone” and “ceramic and paper” to FOREIGN and DOMESTIC. Hmmmmm.

    Challenging. Which is probably exactly what Tink had in mind.

    So, although Chatty went mostly with the obvious, she’s fairly happy with couple of them…

        

    (Chatty’s Toyota)

        

    (A neighbor’s truck)

        

    (The Wiz drives this one)

        

    (Next door neighbor’s pride and joy)

          

       (Chatty had to sneak her camera into the library to get this one…)  

        

    (Chatty only had to open her fridge to find these…)

        

    Really – how much more “domestic” can it get than a bicycle crossing sign? Actually, a deer or a moose crossing sign would have been even better, but Chatty didn’t have one…

        

    Chatty noticed this sign every time she went from Los Angeles to San Diego. It’s a weird sign (kind of like the one Chatty passes on the freeway a few miles from the Arizona State Prison that says “Caution – do not pick up hitchhikers”). But, it’s definitely a “beware of foreigners” sign, isn’t it? Although technically, the sign only cautions drivers not to run over illegal aliens who might be trying to cross the freeway…

    And for any lucky enough to do so, here’s some important information…

        

    And finally…

        

    Ok, Chatty is just being a smart aleck here – she has always adored “Married with Children”. That show was certainly a “domestic” product – nobody but Americans could possibly find it funny (plus, Peg Bundy is Chatty’s idea of a domestic GODDESS!), but let’s face it – those kids were hard-core bad seeds, and “Mauvaise Graine” means – you guessed it – “Bad Seed” in French, which satisfies the foreign part. Chatty could not resist!

     Well, Chatty will stop now. If you want to play next week, go here here to find out how get in on the fun!

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in photos, Weekly Word Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Foreign and Domestic

  1. Tink says:

    Awesome entries! Great idea using the car emblems.

  2. Tink says:

    Oh and btw, your comment on the “Squeee” post had me cracking up. Send me the link to your etsy shop if you open one!

  3. Pat says:

    I loved the pictures of foreign and domestic. I think my favorite was the beer–of course.

  4. Karen says:

    I love the addition of the DVDs! Married with Children is the best!

  5. Jay says:

    Great job on the WWC pics! Anyone who drinks Guinness and watches Married with Children is okay by me! Thanks for visiting my blog .

  6. Carly says:

    I love the Toyota pic. The way the light hits the color makes it look like it should be blown up into a giant art display. The oath was good thinking.

  7. G-man says:

    Hola (Foreign) Howdy (domestic) 🙂 Most excellent showing!!! I laughed I cried, Ok, well, not cried, But it was very entertaining. Good job. 🙂 (I hope you are the Guinness drinker)

  8. CCC says:

    Thanks, and oh YES, I’m the Guinness drinker. The Wiz thinks “dark” beer (much less stout!) is the work of the Devil. Ha!

  9. Reb says:

    Oh, you found clean vehicles! (As opposed to mine) I like your “beware of foreigners” sign, very funny.

  10. Newt says:

    Very nice WWC. I really liked the Dodge one. And Peg Bundy is my idol. Well, sort of.

  11. I saw that beware of hitchhikers sign in Arizona, it’s creepy, and like a qtr. of a mile down the road, there was a hitchhiker!! wonderful photos! LOVE your interpretation for the WWC! I’ll keep coming back for more.

  12. gary says:

    you said it, that Guinness gets around–the yellow teapot is a few months old and has a typical pulled handle, but today there is a large blue teapot with a thrown and reassembled handle and…oh, well, you asked anyways….

  13. gary says:

    Chatty, most of my business is requests directly from the blog.I showed a post last week where I was making this blue teapot http://grpottersblog.blogspot.com/2008/03/working-day-and-night.html and you will see there a ring that I threw on the wheel then I chopped it and made the handle that you see in the final item.I am glazing a pair of mugs and firing them tomorrow to match. They are big, and the teapot is very big for me–4 good sized mug fulls of tea!Let me take a pic of the teapot and 2 mugs and post it Saturday morning with dimensions etc, and I will hold it for you and you can think about it.Teapot and 2 mugs would be 45, + 15 for postage and handling, using paypal.garyrith@yahoo.comThanks a million!

  14. jfpiddef says:

    jfpiddef

    jfpiddef

  15. jfpiddef says:

    jfpiddef

    jfpiddef

  16. automas says:

    My dog is sick (((

Leave a Reply

