Bird Wings

I couldn’t sleep last night, so I just said to heck with it and stayed up all night. Once it got light, I started to think about taking a walk. Around 7:15, I finally decided to stop thinking and just do it. Thanks, Nike slogan-writers, great idea! It was, shall we say, a tad brisk. The thermometer was hovering just under 40 and after a few blocks my hands were feeling it. However, the rest of me was fine, so I pressed on, reminding myself that come July having cold hands will be a fond, distant memory.

I am not a morning person. Never have been, except of necessity, and even then I am always able to go right back to sleeping in as soon as the opportunity presents itself.

But there I was, up with the birds, literally. I was walking around the neighborhood, and a flock of 30 or so rose from a tree and started circling around, doing their bird dance. I have seen this sort of thing before, but I had never heard it. I live in a city, but at that time of morning it’s rather quiet, all things considered. I could hear traffic in the distance, and somewhere fairly close the recycling truck was making its rounds, but I actually HEARD the birds. They didn’t make the flapping sound I was expecting. It was more of a gentle soughing. They circled several times, then headed off into the sun. It was quite special.

Perhaps not special enough to get me up every morning if I don’t have to be awake, but special enough to make me realize that I probably miss a lot each morning I choose to sleep in.

About merseamersea

setter of cryptic crosswords, designer of jewelry, paper and card maker, editor, quilter, embroiderer, cook, avid mystery reader and occasional writer. Find me on Facebook as Maggie-beth Rees Rasor.
This entry was posted in Barn Animals. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bird Wings

  1. Jenn says:

    I have never, and will never, be a morning person. I used to be a night person; as I get older I joke that I am now just a “middle of the day” person. I had occasion to be in a plane this morning; thanks to my daughter’s foresigh (and an A29 Southwest boarding pass) we sat on the left side of the plane and were able to watch the sun rise as we flew southeast from Portland to Reno. Those morning people definitely get a little sumpin’ sumpin’ for their effort!

  2. balalukiro 32 post

    all about balalukiro and top news

  3. grotokoli 81 post

    all about grotokoli and top news

Leave a Reply

